Breaking Down the Shandys of the Summer

fruit and beer

The shandy is the bastard child of fruit juice and beer. If I’m not mistaken, German cyclists used to mix beer with lemonade as some sort of archaic, pre-gatorade, endurance drink. As summer roles around, you’ll see these cropping up all over the place. I’m here to steer you in the right direction if you’re thinking about purchasing shandys. There’s almost nothing worse than a bad shandy. Its generally like if you added fruit flavoring to a Bud light, aka vomit inducing so be careful when selecting your shandys.

Leinenkugel Summer Shandy is the classic shandy. This is a go to if you like lemonade and beer. They do a nice job of keeping this shandy tasting like beer while giving you that lemonadey goodness that every red blooded American loves.

Note: STAY AWAY FROM THE Leinenkugel Shandy Mixpack. It seemed like a good idea. I thought, “Leinenkugel, they know shandys. I think I’ll check this out. Terrible. Stick to the summer shandy don’t branch out or you’ll be sorry.

Harpoon Big Squeeze the king of the grapefruit shandys. Say what you will about Harpoon, you god forsaken hipsters, but harpoon brews good beer despite it not being a “microbrew”. Real refreshing. Goes down easy and finishes tart. If you like grapefruit, this is the shandy for you.

Sam Adams Porch Rocker is also a lemon shandy and is a bit too lemonade for my tastes. If you like your beer to not taste like beer this is the shandy for you. A lot of lemonade and a little beer. It probably tastes closer to a Mike’s Hard than beer.

Narragansett Shandy is the shandy for the college kid. Cheap. Tall boy cans. Better tasting than any cheap beer out there. This beer should be your go to for a long day of day drinking and lawn games.

There you have it. Shandy’s in a nutshell. I know I didn’t touch on Traveler. They’ve got a number of shandys on the market right now. I didn’t give them any type of review because I obviously haven’t had any Traveler shandys yet. STOP PRESSURING ME! Fine. I’ll drink more beer. If that’s what you really want from me. I hope you’re all happy. I will say this, Traveler makes a mean pumpkin beer that gives Pumpkin head a run for its money so if you want to roll the dice on an unapproved shandy, lacking the Captain Salami seal of approval, Traveler is not a bad bet.

Now if you’ll excuse me I have Big Squeeze that needs drunk.

Leave a Reply

