Too Many Young People Skip the Flu Vaccine

Image

http://www.courier-journal.com/viewart/20130927/PRIME01/309270096/CDC-Too-many-young-middle-aged-people-skipping-flu-vaccine

Apparently too many of us young folk skip out the flu vaccine. Gee wonder why that is? Oh thats right:

People at High Risk for Developing Flu-Related Complications

Since I’m not in any of those categories I absolutely don’t care about getting the vaccine. Also I’ve never had the flu (Cause I’m not a pussy). But beyond that I’ve been thinking about it and I really have no reason to have this visceral hate of the flu vaccine. 

Yes the vaccine is mildly useless. It vaccinates against predicted forms of the flu in the hopes that one of the strains will be the dominant one this year. I don’t know how accurate it is and what not but I’ve always assumed not very. 

I think the main reason I don’t like it is because it’s not a fatal disease unless you’re old or a baby. Same goes for the chicken pox vaccine. I think its dumb. No real logical reason I think that. I just feel like getting the chicken pox is a right of passage almost.

I also don’t like people “selling” me on a vaccine: “There’s something for everyone this year,” said CDC’s Dr. Anne Schuchat.” Oh is there? That’s fucking great? What is it you’re selling? Varied forms of a vaccine? Oh fuck off then Dr. Schuchat I thought you were selling Girl Scout Cookies. I’m not saying don’t get the flu shot. I’m just saying if you’re a healthy young adult and you get one I think less of you. Pussies. 

Long story short though, I think I’m 100% gonna have to get a flu vaccine because of my work. So that fucking sucks and if I end up with the flu you’ll fucking hear about it. Vaccine my ass. 

Leave a Reply

